Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Rep.

Josh Guest

Re: Rep.

Quote Originally Posted by Nick View Post
    To my knowledge, the reputation system was designed by vBulletin, the company that made this entire bulletin board software. My understanding is that there are numerical parameters regarding how the system functions.

I am not an administrator on this board, so I cannot view the reputation settings that Dez has input for the Clan. However, as I am an administrator on another vBulletin message board, I have access to their admin control panel and can view/edit such things.

When it comes to reputation, the only thing I can see that is customizable is the reputation level (the text you see when you mouse over the gold rep icons) and the total rep points necessary to reach that level. The rest, including the number of points given to a poster when another leaves them rep, is assigned by the vBulletin system.

According to the FAQ, the amount of reputation that each user will give (or take away if negative) is shown in the user's posts as 'Reputation Power'. I would assume that means that, if you were to give someone positive reputation, they would add nine rep points to their total point number. And again, it's my understanding that reputation levels and rep power is determined based on those point totals.

So while you received rep from two people with rep powers of 18 and 17 respectively, that totals 35 rep points, and it's probable that the difference between where you are now and the next rep level or rep power level is greater than 35 points. Right now, your rep level is "a jewel in the rough." If the difference between that rep level and the next one is, say, 100 points, then 35 points of reputation may not be enough to get you to the next level, depending on where you started.