throwback week

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Av's 20 End of the Lockout Random Thoughts

AvengerRam is offline Moderator Emeritus

Av's 20 End of the Lockout Random Thoughts

1. Thank God its finally over!!!
    2. While I have not studied the details, the most promising new rule coming out of this is the implementation of a salary floor, requiring teams to spend the bulk of their cap money.
    3. The second best new rule is the rookie scale.
    4. Speaking of the rookie scale, how happy is Sam Bradford that he came out when he did?
    5. Why did it take so long? Well, from my experience negotiating many "11th hour" deals as a lawyer, I can tell you this: until the pressure is really on, the ego often trumps logic.
    6. Everyone should send Kevin Demoff a Starbucks card. He's in for a loooong week.
    7. I think the Rams are in a good position to attract players in this "lightning round" FA period. Unlike recent years, we now have solid ownership, a unified front office, a promising young core, and a team on the upswing.
    8. My number 1 target: Barry Cofield. He would be the perfect fit.
    9. If Cofield goes elsewhere, the idea of snatching Brandon Mebane from the Seahawks is also appealing.
    10. Rounding out the field, I really like the prospect of James Anderson playing next to James Laurinaitis.
    11. Honorable mention: Davin Joseph, Darren Sproles, Quintin Mickell, Eric Weddle, Justin Blalock, Reggie Bush and Tim Hightower.
    12. No WRs on my list? That's right. Seems to me, after Sidney Rice and Vincent Jackson, the rest of the crop out there is either (a) too baggage-riddled, or (b) no better than what the Rams already have.
    13. How great is it that we can finally start getting pumped about the Bash?
    14. A somewhat obscure name to watch in the undrafted FA market: Martin Parker.
    15. Glad its a 10 year deal. I don't want to go through this again any time soon.