r8rh8rmike is offline Superbowl MVP

Bradford, Teammates Provide Smiles In Joplin

Bradford, teammates provide smiles in Joplin

BY JIM HENRY, The Joplin Globe
    Friday, May 2, 2011

JOPLIN, Mo. -- The St. Louis Rams gained at least one fan Thursday afternoon.

"This means a lot to me because I've never got to meet an actual football player," said Madison Martin, who had autographs on her T-shirt and wristband. "This is my first time, and I'm really excited.

"They are nice, and now that I got to meet a famous person who's a football player, I've got a new favorite team. It's the Rams."

Rams quarterback Sam Bradford, offensive tackle Adam Goldberg, linebacker James Laurinatis, defensive end James Hall and center Jason Brown plus former Ram and New Orleans Saints tight end Ernie Conwell and DeMaurice Smith, the executive director of the NFL Players Association, flew to Joplin on Thursday and visited families staying in the Leggett & Platt Athletic Center and Robert Ellis Young Gymnasium on the Missouri Southern campus.

Then players and children went across the street to Fred G. Hughes Stadium where they threw the football around, posed for pictures and made public service announcements. The players also handed out football trading cards, and -- unlike the current state of the NFL -- it didn't take long for the trades to begin.

"It's nice for them to come here," said Jordan Buttram, shortly after completing one trade that involved Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers. "I took some cards for my friends."

Dakota Texter threw the football with Bradford, last year's NFL offensive rookie of the year.

"He throws the ball better than I do," Dakota said. "He's a quarterback. This is a lot of fun."

It was Goldberg's idea for the players to come here.