Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    AvengerRam is online now Moderator Emeritus

Did you ever feel like...

Did you ever feel like if you had one day with the Rams FO and an unsigned player (i.e. Steven Jackson) that you could get a deal done?

Maybe its because of what I do for a living, but sometimes I have a hard time comprehending the difficulty in getting a guy signed. Truth is, one of the biggest problems is that a lot of the agents really are not good at engaging in the kind of productive give-and-take that is necessary to work out a deal. They seem to instead take a "give us what we want or we're not signing" approach.

In Jackson's case, everyone knows that he's going to get a lot of money and end up a one of the highest paid RBs in football. Both sides want to get a deal done, and they should be locked in a room together until a contract is signed. This whole "I'm not reporting to camp," and "we're not going to negotiate until you report" is just silly.

Just sit down and work it out. And, if you need my help, I can be on a plane w/in 24 hours. My rates are very reasonable.

thoey is offline Registered User

Re: Did you ever feel like...

Hell, I'd do it for the cost of the plane ride if it would get the deal done...
    This space for rent...

laram0 is offline Superbowl MVP

A game on Jackson's behalf to miss as much of training camp as possible?

rammiser is offline Registered User

Quote Originally Posted by AvengerRam View Post
    Did you ever feel like if you had one day with the Rams FO and an unsigned player (i.e. Steven Jackson) that you could get a deal done?

Maybe its because of what I do for a living, but sometimes I have a hard time comprehending the difficulty in getting a guy signed. Truth is, one of the biggest problems is that a lot of the agents really are not good at engaging in the kind of productive give-and-take that is necessary to work out a deal. They seem to instead take a "give us what we want or we're not signing" approach.