RamWraith is offline Registered User

Hill Ready for Next Step

Monday, May 15, 2006

By Nick Wagoner
    Senior Writer

Coming into the rookie minicamp, few players carry more expectations than the first-round draft pick. For some that pressure might be a bit much to handle, but for Tye Hill, the only thing on his mind was growing accustomed to the speed of the NFL.

“I haven’t even thought about any of that stuff,” Hill said. “All I have thought about is just coming in and just playing. I am here to play ball. I’ll think about that pressure stuff later. Right now, I am just learning. I have to learn. When you are learning there are going to be bumps and bruises in the road so I just have to keep going.”

After a first practice Saturday morning that Hill said had his “lungs about to explode,” Hill settled in nicely and made a strong first impression on the coaching staff.

“What he showed was obviously the skill level we are looking for, but what you don’t get to see when you don’t see him play year around is the competitive side,” coach Scott Linehan said. “He’s a great competitor. He’s got a great spirit about him. He’s a humble kid. I said that from the beginning. He has got a confidence level but he knows he has a ways to go. He keeps his mouth shut and goes about his business and improves every day. That’s what we are looking for.”

Hill made the adjustment to the speed and tempo of an NFL practice soon after the wake up call that was his first workout and spent the rest of the weekend getting used to being back in normal coverage situations.

“I felt I did pretty good for just getting back into football shape and playing against receivers,” Hill said. “I haven’t done that since the Senior Bowl. I have ample room for improvement and once I learn this defense I feel like I will do even better.”