hpbadger is offline Registered User

How bad were SoCal Rams fans?

Ok. I am new to this bbs so this may have been covered before but I have read posts referring to "lackluster support" in the LA area for the Rams. I did not live in LA but remember seeing the LA Coliseum on TV jam packed with 70, 80, and 90 thousand Rams fans at times. After they moved to Anaheim I thought the angels stadium looked pretty full on the idiot box as well. In the 1979 Super bowl nfl films video there is a moronic reference to LA fans "putting on a show" or just there to be seen etc. while the Steelers fans presumably eat, breath and sleep Steelers football in between trips to the steel meal! Anyways, I never bought into this bidness about LA Rams fans not caring about the Rams....maybe some Los Angelinos on this bbs can expand on this . Thank you.

TIMLAN2057 is offline Registered User
    HP, I don't think it was so much attendance as passion. The Coliseum or Anaheim Stadium was never loud and just did not have that "aura" that put the fear of God in visiting teams. Some of that may have been the laid back California attitude though I acknowledge the Coliseum was so damned big that the crowd noise was minimized.

But again, I've been a thirty four year Ram fan living here in Louisiana. It would be interesting to hear what the Angelenos have to say on this subject.
    "If the fights were fake I'd have been in a helluva lot more of them." Wayne Gretzky

RamsDominate is offline Registered User