By Nick Wagoner
Senior Writer

INDIANAPOLIS – Four years ago, Scott Linehan sat by himself inside the RCA Dome watching player after player come through and do his best to prove himself in a short period of time to the watchful eye of every NFL coach, scout and wanna be coach or scout.

All that Linehan had to worry about then was how he was going to make the Minnesota Vikings offense better. He didn’t stick around to watch the linebackers or cornerbacks and he certainly didn’t make it a point to check out the kickers and punters.

But there he was Friday afternoon, heading once again into the same RCA Dome to watch a bunch of kickers and punters go through their workouts. Oh, how things have changed for the Rams’ new head coach.

“Now it’s switching gears to what we are going to do with the Rams football team and the focus has to be in that area,” Linehan said. “I have always been an offensive coach. Now I am a head coach who happens to be from the offensive side of the ball and I have got to approach the team the way I approached coaching a position as an offensive coach and do it like I did on offense.”

The broad reach of what Linehan must do as the head coach as opposed to working as the coordinator includes more menial tasks such as watching the workouts of punters and kickers, but it extends well beyond understanding the X’s and O’s and being able to recognize and evaluate talent.

It’s easy for any coach to say he has a plan and wants to bring in this guy or trade for that guy, but in today’s NFL, it’s not realistic to execute that plan without a genuine understanding of how the league’s economics work.

And that is an area in which Linehan is striving to improve.