MauiRam is offline Pro Bowl Ram

Little Still Undecided On Playing ..

BY JIM THOMAS Thursday, August 5, 2010 12:10 am

After 12 years in the business, and minus a contract, Leonard Little needed time away from football to clear his head and mull things over.

But after months of contemplation, and nearly one week into training camp, Little has yet to make up his mind. In his first interview since the 2009 season, the veteran defensive end told the Post-Dispatch he hasn't decided whether to retire or keep playing.

"Sometimes I feel like I want to come back," Little said. "Sometimes I feel like I don't. It's a hard decision to make when you're used to playing football. I've been playing football since I was 5 years old.

"I love the game. And I do miss it. But my decision is not going to be about football. It's going to be about other things — things I'd rather not talk about right now."

Even at age 35 — he turns 36 in October — Little knows he can still play effectively, albeit as a situational pass rusher with limited playing time. It's a role he's willing to embrace if he decides to keep playing.

Although he declined to name specific teams, Little said, "There's some teams interested. If I want to call 'em and tell 'em I'm ready to play, I think it'll be a good chance I could join those specific teams. But I haven't given anybody a definitive answer, so teams don't know where I'm at right now."

Little continues to train at his home in Charlotte, N.C. He says his strength is where it needs to be to play NFL football. His weight is holding steady at around 265 pounds, his normal playing weight. He says his conditioning still needs work, although he ran the half-mile in about 2½ minutes Wednesday.

And what about the Rams? Little said he has been playing phone tag lately with coach Steve Spagnuolo.