Thread: Marc Bulger ..

MauiRam is offline Pro Bowl Ram

Marc Bulger ..

I just got off the phone with a longtime Ram fan friend who until recently resided here on Maui. He's now touring the mainland in a 40 foot RV living the good life which includes Direct TV in his motorhome. My friend was of the opinion that Bulger still appears to be afflicted with the "Deer in the Headlights" syndrome. He asked me what I thought ..

I'm no expert, or pundit, but like most ardent Ram fans I do have an opinion regarding Marc Bulger. My response to my friend was this: Why wouldn't Marc look like a deer in the headlights? The man has had the crap beaten out of him for two years straight. Opposing defenses shredded our patchwork O-line like clockwork for the last 2 years victimizing Marc time after time. Did he hold onto the ball too long last night a few times? Maybe, but on a couple of occasions when I thought he did, and I backed the play up to see exactly when the receiver broke free, (Just learning to use my DVR) Marc was already in the grasp.

Bulger still has his lightning quick release, and very good accuracy. Once his offensive line has earned his trust, I expect him to regain his confidence. How long will it take? Can't answer that one .. hopefully by the final preseason game. Having Donnie Avery back won't hurt either .. If we are to make opposing defenses pay for blitzing, Donnie would be a good guy to have around ..

Bulger is learning a completely new offense. Pat Shurmur our new OC being a former QB coach, must conjure up plays that will get the ball out of his hands quickly to help build Marc's confidence. Last night the Jets were successful in overloading one side of the line or even the middle with various blitz packages. I doubt there was a great deal of game planning against the Jets.