throwback week

AvengerRam is offline Moderator Emeritus

Maybe its because I'm a lawyer...

GC can back me up on this...

As a lawyer, my mind is trained to equate the term "relevant facts" with the term "admissible evidence."

Maybe that's why, when I hear one person (a reporter) quote an unnamed person (supposedly a player), I don't even consider the issue.

Its inadmissible (for various reasons, including hearsay and simple lack of specificity).

Do I doubt that someone on the team threw the three first round DTs under the bus when talking to a reporter? Not really. But, without the ability to "cross-examine" the alleged speaker, I can't place any value on the statement.

From my perspective, two of the three have played fairly well this year (Pickett and Kennedy) while the other should be allowed to sign elsewhere (Lewis).

Perhaps the speaker was frustrated at the loss. Maybe he's jealous of their salaries. Maybe his statement was taken out of context.

Who knows?

Right now, all we have is a proffer of inadmissible evidence.

As Joe Vitt said... its not newsworthy.

general counsel is offline Registered User

Re: Maybe its because I'm a lawyer...

I basically agree with Av on this one, but i think that there is a difference between legal guilt and innocence and the court of public opinion.

An example. Cop breaks down a door without a search warrant or probable cause. He finds a pound of cocaine in the house. The evidence is not admissable legally, but in the court of public opinion, the drugs were in the house and that does have a certain significance independent of the legal implications.