RamWraith is offline Registered User

New cornerback surprised by trade to Rams

Johnson had backing of assistant coach
    BY STEVE KORTE
    News-Democrat

ST. LOUIS - Being traded for a former first-round draft pick came as a compliment to cornerback Chris Johnson.

The St. Louis Rams acquired Johnson from the Green Bay Packers on Saturday in exchange for linebacker Robert Thomas, the 31st overall pick in the 2002 NFL draft.

"I really didn't know until last night," Johnson said of the fact that Thomas was a former first-rounder. "That made me feel pretty good."

Johnson said the trade caught him by surprise. He expected to

"I felt that I had at least one year there," Johnson said. "They let a lot of linebackers go, so they needed some linebackers. In the trade, that's what they got. I hope everything works out for them, and I know it's going to work out for me."

Rams coach Mike Martz said Johnson was obtained on the recommendation of Rams secondary coach Kurt Schottenheimer, who coached the defensive backs for the Packers last season.

"In this situation, I solely relied on Kurt's opinion of him," Martz said. "Obviously, Kurt had great things to say about him. He thought he had terrific potential. He had some injury issues that we hope and think are cleared up at this point. He's still rough around the edges, but he's a competitive guy with a lot of ability who we think in short order can contribute for us."

Johnson was a seventh-round pick by the Packers in the 2003 NFL draft. He missed the 2003 season after injuring his right knee in training camp after colliding with teammate Donald Driver. He suffered a stress fracture in his leg during an offseason workout in 2004, that hindered his return from the knee injury.

Johnson was on the Packers' 53-man roster late last season, but he never played in a game.

"I feel great right now," Johnson said. "My body is holding up like I want it to. I'm doing all my conditioning and strengthening stuff."