Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Rams get good return on second-round investments

macrammer is offline Registered User

Re: Rams get good return on second-round investments

Quote Originally Posted by NJ Ramsfan1 View Post
    Well, I simply don't agree. Number one, as a coach myself, i can tell you in sports that character counts. Might sound corny, but it's true and I believe that with 100% of my being. Certainly you need talent, and you can't have a team with high character and no ability. By the same token, guys who are ***holes usually let you down. Number two, at 15-65 over three seasons, you don't pin the hopes of turning a franchise around on guys who are just as likely to let you down as be productive. When you are a good organization, you can take the occasional flyer on a problem or a malcontent (New England w/Randy Moss, for instance). We don't hvae that luxury yet. And three, the businessman who goes to work but cheats on his wife or the mechanic who goes to work and is a deadbeat dad are different animals than an NFL team who has gambled millions of dollars and the reputation of its franchise on guys with red flags.

And there is PERFECT CORRELATION between the Gregg Williams situation and player character concerns. Both illustrate behavior which is unacceptable, and to justify one and not the other is hypocritical.

I was leading the cheers of "Hire Jeff Fisher", so I trust the guy and assume he's done his due diligence. But I have more than a passing concern about what we've done here, and I won't apologize for that line of thinking.
    NJ, I hear ya and agree. I am not one to root for a playe ron my team that is a DBag. I don't like cha=eap shot artists either. I trust Fish but I too am concerned and will be holding our new coach accountable to not let this turn into the Raiders of the midwest. I am sure he knows what he ahs and what he is doing. Can't wait to see the on field product.

Barry Waller is offline Registered User