RamWraith is offline Registered User

Rams interview Rivera, Linehan

By Jim Thomas
    ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH
    01/06/2006

Ron Rivera is driven, and two snapshots from his professional life best illustrate that fact:

In the early 1990s, at the tail end of his playing career, there was the sight of Rivera at the Chicago Bears' facility. At a time of the year when many NFL players are squeezing in one last vacation before training camp, Rivera was working on deep-snapping - all by himself - in June.

A linebacker by trade, he was never more than the backup long snapper to Jay Hilgenberg in Chicago. But Rivera wanted to prolong his NFL career.

In 1997, eager to break into coaching, Rivera worked without pay as a defensive quality control coach for the Bears.

"They had never had the position before, and it was a chance for me to get in," Rivera told the Chicago Tribune. "So I volunteered to do it."

Apparently, when Rivera sets a goal, he'll do anything it takes to reach it. And make no mistake, his career goal is to be an NFL head coach.

"To me, you get into coaching to become a head coach," Rivera told the Tribune in 2004. "If you don't have specific goals like that, why coach?"

Rivera is closer than ever to reaching that goal. He interviewed with the Rams on Friday and is scheduled to interview with Green Bay today, which happens to be his 44th birthday.

Rivera is tough-minded and extremely intense. Those who have spent any time around Rivera say you can see the intensity in his eyes. Rivera is a stickler for detail, but he isn't much of a screamer. Oh, he'll administer the occasional tongue-lashing, as was the case in 2004 when a preseason victory over the Rams was followed by a lackluster effort in practice by the defensive unit.