lowasah is offline Registered User

Rams and MRSA infection

Hi Ram fans,

I have followed the Rams stretching back to my time living in St. Louis, MO. I am currently a professor in biology who researches bacteria and how they infect people. I found a few references to an outbreak of MRSA (Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus) in Rams players in 2003 - including an article from the New England Journal of Medicine in 2005. I wonder, though, if any of you know more about this story, and would be willing to share? In particular I'm interested in the personal experiences players had during the infection, any impacts that it had on the team, and any changes that the team or trainers made in response to this incident.

Perhaps this is not the right place for this question but I thought I'd try!

Luke

HUbison is offline Superbowl MVP

Re: Rams and MRSA infection

Quote Originally Posted by lowasah View Post
    Hi Ram fans,

I have followed the Rams stretching back to my time living in St. Louis, MO. I am currently a professor in biology who researches bacteria and how they infect people. I found a few references to an outbreak of MRSA (Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus) in Rams players in 2003 - including an article from the New England Journal of Medicine in 2005. I wonder, though, if any of you know more about this story, and would be willing to share? In particular I'm interested in the personal experiences players had during the infection, any impacts that it had on the team, and any changes that the team or trainers made in response to this incident.

Perhaps this is not the right place for this question but I thought I'd try!

Luke
    I do remember that. But I'm afraid most of us wouldn't have the details you're looking for. It was just reported as several players were "sick w/ flu-like symptoms" and I believe they did say a staph infection outbreak had happened. Though I don't recall it being MRSA. That's a little scary.