By Bill Coats
ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH
12/22/2005

Unless the soreness in Steven Jackson's hip eases in the next 24 hours or so, Marshall Faulk figures to have another busy afternoon when the Rams complete their home schedule Saturday against the San Francisco *****.

"I'm feeling a little better, taking it day to day," Jackson said Thursday. "I'm not a doctor. I'm not a miracle worker. I do intend on trying to help my team in pursuing another win. But I've got to make sure everything's OK."

Jackson took a helmet to his left hip in the second quarter of Sunday's 17-16 loss to Philadelphia. He had several carries afterward, but Faulk got most of the work the rest of the way. Faulk wound up with season highs for carries (16) and rushing yards (87). He also caught three passes for 21 yards.

"You play through pain all the time in this game," Jackson said. "It's just one of those things where I really feel like I can't get my burst like I normally can."

Jackson didn't practice Wednesday or Thursday, but interim head coach Joe Vitt indicated he was willing to be patient with his top back, who has 1,018 rushing yards for the season. "I think he'll be OK. We'll have to wait and see," Vitt said. "If he tells me at game time he's ready to go, I trust him."

Martz drops in

Mike Martz visited Rams Park again Thursday, watching part of practice at the indoor facility. Vitt said the two talked briefly.

"For about three minutes," Vitt reported. "He looks good. I was going to ask him how I looked." The Rams are 3-6 since Vitt took over for Martz, including five losses in their last six games.

Looker appreciatesexpanded role

After trying Shaun McDonald, Terry Fair and David Allen, the Rams have turned to Dane Looker as their primary punt returner. He averaged 6.5 yards on four attempts vs. the Eagles in his first such duty since 2003.