HUbison is offline Superbowl MVP

Remember the Titans

The Titans provide a good model for "drastic turnarounds" on defense. They spent '04-'06 hovering never more than a spot or two above the bottom of the league in defense. Then in '07 they jumped to #8, and this year they sit at #2.

Schwartz was the DC all along, so that didn't change. And while some positions have been in flux throughout (DE opposite VandenBosch, and MLB), the core remained the same.....VandenBosch, Haynesworth, Thornton, Bullock, Hope.

I'm no expert, but it seems the formula is something like this.....

1. Put trusted veteran leaders in the LB corp (Thornton, Bullock)
    2. Recognize your strongest position and exploit it (Haynesworth)
    3. Let the emotional leader, lead emotionally (VandenBosch)
    4. Fill the secondary with players that aren't afraid to light up a receiver AND run support (Harper, Finnigan, Griffen, Hope)
    5. In the draft, don't roll the dice early (Griffin) or turn a blind eye late (Finnigan)
    6. Get rid of the numbnuts (PacMan)

I don't know what the exact answer is, but it seems analyzing the Titans, who did exactly what we want to do, would be a good start.

"Before the gates of excellence the high gods have placed sweat; long is the road thereto and rough and steep at first; but when the heights are reached, then there is ease, though grievously hard in the winning." --- Hesiod

laram0 is offline Superbowl MVP

Re: Remember the Titans

Great example of the players being the key to success. An DC or OC can have a proven track record/history but if they don't have the horses........
    Last edited by laram0; -12-10-2008 at 05:04 PM.

dgr828 is offline Registered User

Quote Originally Posted by HUbison View Post
    , but oh so true!
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

gap Guest