NJ Ramsfan1 is online now Registered User

Shameless name-dropping

Last year, I had the opportunity to meet and socialize with Billy Devaney through a mutual friend at the Rams/Jets pre-season game. Billy is from the Jersey Shore, as I am, and his two brothers, Sean and Dennis are high school basketball coaches in the area. Since I am a high school teacher and coach baseball, we've been in some similar circles, and I've talked with both of them numerous times. I sat in the luxury suite with them last year.

On Friday, I went to a wedding and Sean Devaney was there. He is dating the cousin of the groom. I spoke to Sean for a good 20 minutes. He said he had just spoken to Billy a few hours earlier. Among the highlights from Billy:

*Was frustrated to be in Atlanta (supplemental draft) and not really be doing anything, as the Rams chose not to be active in this phase of the season.

*Said the Rams will be good in two years- he just hopes he's around to see it. Bradford needs to get settled, & the Rams must get another impact player or two on both offense and defense. Billy knows that improvement must be shown this year- fan expectations of 5 or 6 wins are NOT unreasonable- and that he and Spagnuolo will be judged as all coaches/gm's are: on winning football games.

*Atmosphere around the park is excellent. The culture has changed there and underachievers (Barron) & problems (Incognito) are being weeded out. We knew this.

*Is dumbfounded by fans who are upset at our wide receiver situation and thinks the fact we have no true #1 receiver is not a big deal. He feels the guys on the roster -Robinson, Gibson, et. al. can all be productive and contribute heavily. Must stay healthy!!

*Rams had too many other needs to address than to worry about a back up for Steven Jackson high in the draft.