RamWraith is offline Registered User

Team pins hopes on Ponder making many happy returns

By Bill Coats
    ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH
    11/16/2006

Many have come and many have gone. But none of the kick-return candidates the Rams have tried since losing the scintillating Tony Horne to free agency six years ago brought better credentials than Willie Ponder, the newest applicant for the job.

Only two of the Rams' 36 returns this season have exceeded Ponder's four-year career average of 25.6 yards. In 2004, Ponder set a New York Giants record by piling up 259 return yards vs. Pittsburgh en route to an NFL-leading season average of 26.9 yards.

"I know the players, the people upstairs (in the executive offices at Rams Park) and the people in the community are going to have a lot of expectations of me," said Ponder, one of four new Rams signees. "I've just got to come in and perform."

The 6-foot, 204-pound Ponder, a wide receiver by trade, auditioned here two weeks ago. On Tuesday, the team released J.R. Reed, who averaged 20.4 yards on 17 returns. Kevin Curtis and Tony Fisher also returned kicks this year, with modest success.

"It's certainly something we can improve on," coach Scott Linehan said. "I think (Ponder) can impact the game with not just positive field position, but with ... the ability to hit the home run."

Ponder, 26, went deep twice for the Giants, traveling 91 yards for a touchdown in 2004 and 95 yards in '05. He was released in the offseason and signed with Seattle.

After six games for the Seahawks, in which he averaged 23.5 yards on 25 attempts, Ponder again was sent packing. "When (quarterback Matt) Hasselbeck went down (with a knee injury), they had to bring in a quarterback, and I was an expendable guy," he said. "It was a numbers game."