Thumbs down Tight end Williams glad to be back with Rams

Associated Press

ST. LOUIS - Roland Williams says he's glad to back with the St. Louis Rams, a team he helped win the Super Bowl in 2000.
    St. Louis signed the 6-foot-5, 265-pounder in the offseason.
    Williams, who played with the Rams from 1998 to 2000, was traded to the Oakland Raiders before the star to the 2001 season. He stayed with Oakland for two years, then went to Tampa Bay, then returned to the Raiders.
    "It feels great to be back," Williams said Saturday after the morning practice at Rams Park. "This is where I started playing my career. I'm going into year eight. This is great to come back and have a rebirth after going through injuries and that stuff.
    "It's great to come back to a place I love so much to get it going again."
    Williams has impressed coach Mike Martz in the early days of camp.
    Martz said Williams will be the starter. Brandon Manumaleuna, who started 15 games last season, will back up Williams, although he'll still see playing time.
    "We're kind of moving in a different direction," Martz said. "We're going to do a lot of two tight end stuff. In essence, they are both starters."
    A solid blocker, Williams has shown he can also catch the ball.
    "Roland Williams is probably the most pleasant surprise of the offseason," Martz said. "When we brought him back here, I felt like he was going to be a solid player.
    "What Roland did in the spring is much more than I anticipated. He deserves the opportunity to step and battle."
    Sharing the spot with Manumaleuna is fine with Williams.
    "I feel like we're the best tight end tandem in the league," Williams said.
    Receiver Torry Holt said he is glad Williams is back wearing the blue and gold of the Rams. Williams is a positive presence in the locker room.