By Jim Thomas
Of the Post-Dispatch
10/23/2004
Rams rookie Larry Turner is a center by trade. But with the defensive line short on bodies following Tyoka Jackon's hamstring injury, Turner has become a double threat.

He saw action on the team's goal-line defense at tackle Monday night against Tampa Bay.

"I was in there for like three or four plays," said Turner, a seventh-round draft pick from Eastern Kentucky. "Coach (Bill) Kollar said I did my job. He said all I'm supposed to do is get on all fours, and just root on through there and create a pile. That's what I did."

Kollar is the Rams' defensive line coach. Turner didn't find out until the Friday before the Tampa Bay game that he was going to play defense for the first time since his days at Wayne High in Huber Heights, Ohio.

"It was fun," Turner said. "It was really exhilarating just to hear the fans, so I got pumped."

With Jackson out again this week, Turner could be in for more goal-line duty Sunday in Miami.

Dishman's back

After missing two contests because of a sprained knee, offensive guard Chris Dishman quietly made his return to game action Monday night against Tampa Bay.

It was easy enough to miss Dishman's return. Other than duty on the field goal and extra point unit, he was in the game for only one play - the goal-line blocking unit for Marshall Faulk's 100th NFL rushing touchdown. Dishman started the Rams' first three games at left guard, but was replaced by Scott Tercero after the injury. Tercero has played well enough to keep the job even though Dishman is now healthy.

"It was definitely good to be back in uniform," Dishman said. "Right now, Scotty's playing such good ball. It's one of those things. Coaches are superstitious and players are, too. So, if something's rolling right, you just keep going with it, I guess."

Tercero remains the starter, but Dishman shared repetitions with him Friday with the first unit at practice.

McGrorty's promotion