throwback week

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: What the public doesn't know about the union ref negotiations

NJ Ramsfan1 is offline Registered User

Re: What the public doesn't know about the union ref negotiations

People keep bringing up the fact that the NFL "should just give in because they bring in a ton of money. That's simply a lot of baloney, and it goes way deeper than that. The refs are indeed being unreasonable. They want to continue a full, non-contributory pension (which they've had for years) for what amounts to a part time job. It's outrageous. In case you didn't realize, pension reform is a big deal in this country right now because people can't afford to pay that kind of outlandish money. And just because it happens to be a team owner on the other end doesn't mean they should lend themselves to extortion. In what other part time job can someone get away with having a pension in which they contribute zero dollars? I'm a teacher- and there's no more powerful union in the state of NJ than the teacher's union- yet I dutifully pay into my pension every month, as I should. Yet the referees seem to feel what their being asked to do is unreasonable. Sorry, but I don't see it that way.

Of course the myopic fan simply cries that the real refs not being out there is all they care about. I'm not going to sit here and argue many of the games haven't been poorly officiated, because they have. But this stuff I've heard about Monday night's game essentially being the worst call ever is nonsense. I could think of a half dozen instances over the years off the top of my head which were WAY worse- the NE/OAK playoff "tuck rule" game and the Ed Hochuli SD/DEN gaffe a few years ago, being two that immediately come to mind.