Varg6 is offline Registered User

Witherspoon Adjusting Well in Middle...

While with the Carolina Panthers, Will Witherspoon spent most of his time at weak side linebacker. When he signed with the Rams on March 11, Witherspoon instantly became the key cog in the Rams’ revamped defense.

Now, Witherspoon has spent the organized team activities and minicamps adjusting to being the middle linebacker in new defensive coordinator Jim Haslett’s attacking, aggressive defensive scheme.

And Witherspoon says that transition has gone well.

“I’m feeling good,” Witherspoon said. “It’s nothing I have never done before. It’s just something I have to adjust to and adapt to and make that change again. It’s just shifting my mindset from outside to inside.”

One part of that adjustment of moving inside is handling the responsibilities that go with the position. Most middle linebackers take the signals from the sidelines and relay the plays in the huddle. Pisa Tinoisamoa has done that in the past for the Rams, but Witherspoon could be seen breaking the huddle during last weekend’s veteran minicamp.

While that’s a small part of what the Rams are asking Witherspoon to do, it’s significant to note that he will be expected to be one of the defensive leaders for the Rams’ new-look defense.

Within that defense, coach Scott Linehan and Haslett have acquired talent capable of getting to the quarterback and making plays. Fast, athletic players were the order of the day and Linehan expects Witherspoon and Tinoisamoa to be excellent complements to each other on the defense.

“It's a good spot for a guy who runs around and makes all the tackles,” Linehan said. “In the scheme we're going to run, both of them (weakside and middle linebacker) need to basically be mirror images of each other.”