Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    coy bacon is offline Registered User

Re: You have to admit...

Quote Originally Posted by AvengerRam
    Though similar, that quote lacks the panache of the famous Twain quote.
    It better have some quality of improvement. I would expect a great writer like Twain to adapt a quote succinctly to the language of his culture and time.

OTOH, the KJV has a reverential quality to it.
    17:28
    Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding.

And no, AV is not an OT expert.

AvengerRam is offline Moderator Emeritus

Quote Originally Posted by coy bacon
    And no, AV is not an OT expert.
    That statement is funny for three reasons.

First, you have no idea what my background is with respect to the Old Testament. Truth is, I do have a fairly strong background in that area, having gone to Yeshiva for the first few years of my schooling.

Second, when I see the abbreviation "OT," I think of "overtime," and I happen to be an expert in federal overtime law.

Third, as points one and two aptly demonstrate, you have failed to follow the advice of the Proverbs or Mark Twain and, as a result, revealed your foolishness by electing not to remain silent.

Ah, how I love irony.

HUbison is offline Superbowl MVP

First, you have no idea what my background is with respect to the Old Testament. Truth is, I do have a fairly strong background in that area, having gone to Yeshiva for the first few years of my schooling.

Second, when I see the abbreviation "OT," I think of "overtime," and I happen to be an expert in federal overtime law.

Third, as points one and two aptly demonstrate, you have failed to follow the advice of the Proverbs or Mark Twain and, as a result, revealed your foolishness by electing not to remain silent.

Ah, how I love irony.