AvengerRam is offline Moderator Emeritus

Antitrust Law 101

If you are following the NFL/NFLPA dispute, you've probably heard a lot of references to antitrust law. As many of you know, I am an attorney. While antitrust is not my practice area (I specialize in employment law), I know enough to give a basic primer.

In essence, the NFLPA is arguing that the league should be prohibited from acting collectively (in collusion) to control such issues as salary, contract status (i.e. free agency) and other terms and conditions of employment.

The question of whether they are right comes down to whether the NFL is viewed as a single entity or a group of independent entities. A single entity can enact whatever rules it wishes. A group of independent entities may be restricted by antitrust law from doing the same (as such collusion interferes with free trade).

The NFL (or any sports league) has aspects of both. No team can operate entirely independently (who would they play?), so the success of the sport depends on the existence of a league. On the other hand, the individual teams are owned separately and compete against each other for revenue, at least to some extent.

In recognition of the unique nature of sports leagues, the law has traditionally exempted the NFL from standard antitrust analyses, and allowed them to operate as, essentially, a collection of independently owned sub-entities.

The NFLPA is now challenging this exemption. In honesty, they don't really want the NFL to be fully subject to antitrust laws, as it would destroy the league and result in less revenue available to divide among all parties.

So, like most issues, this is a game of chicken. The NFLPA is seeking a ruling on April 6 that the antitrust argument is viable (a final decision is not made at that stage). Such a ruling (which would be accopanied by an injunction that would end the lockout), would force the NFL to settle the matter rather than risk an adverse final ruling on the antitrust issue.