RamWraith is offline Registered User

Martz still wants to be a head coach

By Jim Thomas
    ST. LOUIS POST-DISPATCH
    02/23/2007

INDIANAPOLIS Make no mistake, Mike Martz wants another chance to be an NFL head coach. But the onetime conductor of the Greatest Show on Turf in St. Louis seems at peace with the prospect of working as Detroit's offensive coordinator for at least another year.

"I'd love to be a head coach again," Martz said Thursday. "I feel like I've got a little unfinished business, so to speak. But by the same token, I love what I'm doing."

What Martz likes best about football is putting in a game plan, dissecting a defense and calling plays on game day.

"I've been a head coach," Martz said. "I understand all the things involved with being a head coach. I guess what I'm saying to you is I don't need to be a head coach again to be fulfilled. Yes, I do want to be a head coach again. But if it doesn't happen, then it just doesn't happen."

Martz still is something of a media magnet. He drew a crowd of reporters Thursday at the NFL Scouting Combine in a hallway adjoining the RCA Dome. Unfortunately for Martz, he didn't draw a crowd of interest this offseason from teams looking for a new head coach.

Martz interviewed for the Miami job, which went to San Diego offensive coordinator Cam Cameron. Thirteen months ago, Cameron was a finalist to replace Martz in St. Louis, with Scott Linehan getting the job. Despite the recent hiring of recycled head coaches Norv Turner (in San Diego) and Wade Phillips (Dallas), the trend seems to be to hire fresh faces.

"It seems like it is," Martz said.

Even with a team that finished 3-13 last season, Martz has a good working situation in Detroit. Lions head coach Rod Marinelli lets him do his thing on offense.

"He's been perfect in that respect," Martz said. "He does a great job of being a head coach. He really does. He pays attention to the things that are important, and then he lets you do your job."