Milan is offline Registered User

Warner Interested in Joining Martz

Lions | Warner interested in rejoining Martz?
    Sat, 11 Feb 2006 08:14:13 -0800

Bernie Miklasz, of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, reports Arizona Cardinals QB Kurt Warner said he's open to the idea of rejoining Detroit Lions offensive coordinator Mike Martz in Detroit. Warner told Jeff Vernetti of KSLG (1380 AM) in an interview: "With what we did offensively, and his offensive mind, and just as an offensive football coach, I haven't been around any better (than Martz). That always would be intriguing. And knowing the (Martz) system, loving the system, and feeling like it plays into my strengths. All of those things would be plusses. They've got a lot of skill guys there (in Detroit); they've got a lot of talent there, similar to what we had in St. Louis. You look at it from that standpoint, and I think it would be really exciting. It would be fun." Martz has confided to associates that if he ever needed a quarterback in his new destination, and he needs one in Detroit, he wouldn't hesitate to bring Warner in. Warner is scheduled to be a free agent in March, unless the Arizona Cardinals re-sign him first.

RamsFanSam is offline Pro Bowl Ram

Re: Warner Interested in Joining Martz

Once again, Bernie has scooped the obvious.

Duh.

sbramfan is offline Registered User

I'm one of the Warnerites, but I never really felt like I was that interested in watching him on other teams. I thought I would be more interested, but really wasn't.

Point being, I think THIS would be interesting.

r8rh8rmike is offline Superbowl MVP

Interesting possibility. Is there some purpose to these statements? Would Warner really like to rejoin Martz or is he looking to force the issue with Arizona? Lots of possible story dynamics here. I think he would do well in either situation.

Nick is offline Superbowl MVP