Jan. 14, 2005
SportsLine.com wire reports

HOUSTON -- Auburn coach Tommy Tuberville won the Paul "Bear" Bryant coach of the year award Thursday for guiding the Tigers to their first 13-0 season.


The Bryant award is given by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.

The other finalists were Southern California's Pete Carroll, Boise State's Dan Hawkins, Utah's Urban Meyer, Louisville's Bobby Petrino and UTEP's Mike Price.

"The selection is based on all of the hard work the Auburn staff and players put in this season. This is a team award, not an individual award," Tuberville said Thursday night.

Last month, Tuberville was voted the Associated Press coach of the year.

Auburn finished the season ranked No. 2 in the nation after beating Virginia Tech 16-13 in the Sugar Bowl.

Tuberville has a 51-24 overall record in his six seasons with Auburn and is 31-17 in Southeastern Conference play.

The Associated Press News Service

Copyright 2004-2005, The Associated Press, All Rights Reserved