general counsel is offline Registered User

jackson and leonard- a cynics view

Here is a random thought of cynicism. Keep in mind that i am basically a professional cynic, its critical to my job, so i admit this thinking is more than a little out of the box.

Jackson is a free agent at the end of 2008. Going into next off season, the rams dont know if he will be signed long term. The rams dont want jackson to have unlimited leverage. In addition, they needed a backup running back anyway.

With the selection of leonard, they get a high character guy that they really like and who can contribute without being a starter (ie special teams etc) and in the event jackson tries to hold up the team for unlimited money, they potentially have a guy that can step right into a starting role. He can run, catch and block, which is an excellent array of skills, especially in the linehan offense.

Anyone else think this might have had any impact on the decision to draft leonard when we were so badly in need of pass rush. Just a thought, not saying its even likely, just a data point.

ramming speed to all

general counsel

KingHigh is offline Registered User

Re: jackson and leonard- a cynics view

Quote Originally Posted by general counsel View Post
    Here is a random thought of cynicism. Keep in mind that i am basically a professional cynic, its critical to my job, so i admit this thinking is more than a little out of the box.

Jackson is a free agent at the end of 2008. Going into next off season, the rams dont know if he will be signed long term. The rams dont want jackson to have unlimited leverage. In addition, they needed a backup running back anyway.