AvengerRam is offline Moderator Emeritus

Mark Herzlich, and the business of Pro Football

The Rams could use a guy like Mark Herzlich.

Well, maybe.

If Herzlich, who returned this year and played well (though not at his prior level) after missing a year due to cancer, can return to his 2008 form, he would be a first-round value at OLB.

As far as "four pillars" go, he probably has six or seven.

But, at the risk of being cold and business oriented, do you take a chance on him?

I'm no doctor, but I have to believe that two things are true (1) Herzlich has a better than average chance of having to fight cancer again, and (2) if he has a relapse, his football career is probably over.

Still, how can you not be a fan of this guy?

I guess the "buisnessman" in me would say it all comes down to where he might fall in the draft.

Would I invest a first round pick on him? No, I don't think I would.

Second round? Maybe, but probably not.

Third round? Hmmmm.....

Fourth? Hell, yes.

I hope Mark has a long, healthy NFL career and life. He is a true inspiration, and that's not a word I throw out often when referring to athletes.

I guess I wouldn't mind seeing him wearing the horns.

fearsome foursome is offline Registered User

Re: Mark Herzlich, and the business of Pro Football

It would probably depend on the type of cancer. Lance Armstrong did OK.

Quote Originally Posted by fearsome foursome View Post
    It would probably depend on the type of cancer. Lance Armstrong did OK.
    It was Ewing's sarcoma, which is a rare bone cancer that tends to impact young men. It has a fairly high survival rate, though I'm not sure what the relapse probabilities are (no, I'm not a doctor, I just looked it up).

Bralidore(RAMMODE) is offline Registered User

I've heard nothing but good things about Herzlich prior to his bout with cancer, but I've never seen him play.