Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Too Early NFL Draft Preview: St. Louis Rams

by Seth Cox Seth CoxCorrespondent

Who would you like to see the Rams take?

Jimmy Clausen Jake Locker Sam Bradford Ndamukong Suh Eric Berry Other (pleas list in comment section) vote to see results As another season comes to an agonizingly slow close for the St. Louis Rams and their fans, I will look into the my crystal ball to see how they will be going to get their future back into place.

To start, we need to know the positions of strength, so we can rule out those prospects.

We also need to know what makes the most sense going forward.

To me—and I am no expert nor will I claim to be—they need a franchise player to come in.

They have a more-than-dominant running back. Steven Jackson is a special player with amazing talent, but he needs help, and, more importantly, incentive to stay.

The Rams have looked better along the offensive line this year, only allowing 28 sacks, but more importantly helping get Jackson to over 1200 yards through 12 games.

Conversely, the defense has not played well against the run and they will need to address the situation in the off season.

There are some nice names that could be plugged into the defensive line and make an impact, more so than there is at the top of the draft.

That, and I really don't think the Rams are in a position where drafting another interior lineman will put them over the top.

So where do they go with their first pick?

I would love to see them take a quarterback, and this is a relatively strong draft at the position.

Jimmy Clausen is the most NFL-ready QB, and would be a welcomed addition to the Rams' team.

Jake Locker is the most intriguing of the prospects, as he possesses the most overall talent. But he has not shown enough, at least to me, to warrant a top-three selection.

Sam Bradford has been on many teams' radar for a long time, but there are still questions about his shoulder.