The New Stuff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The New Stuff

Not posted in a while but thought I would share a recent experience.

Like many of you I was excited by the new logo launch and the prospect of new uniforms. Upon the unveiling of the log and colour palette, I was impressed by the colours, but depressed by the logo's. I am a member of a couple FB groups and the reaction was almost universally negative. Personally, the new main logo is underwhelming, its like a senior high school answer to a local sports project. The Ram was okay I thought until it was pointed out that there is a phallus there and frankly, what is once seen cannot be unseen. Generally however I was prepared for it to grow on me, not like a fungus but like a new armchair; not quite the same but in time it could work out.

Except it hasn't and I don't think it will any time soon.

Like many of you I have been working from home. In my case, I have been doing so for four months but I live in Hong Kong. In that time I have put on 10 pounds and some stuff is a little too restrictive these days. Yes I'll work it off in a month or so but I need new workout gear anyway and as we are moving house at the end of the week to a beachfront place with lots of potential for waistline-trimming, I thought I would buy some gear from the club shop.

Except I couldn't.

I really tried to.

But I couldn't.

There was nothing there to persuade me to take the financial plunge. I have a fair amount of Rams gear and was more than willing to get more. My absurdly tall four year-old runs around in Rams gear and I have been stopped by American expats in HK who wonder why I'm wearing Rams gear in the supermarket. I have a STL Rams Faulk shirt that is kept in pride of place with my college football shirts.

But I couldn't buy anything this time.