No announcement yet.

Vote for Yo

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Vote for Yo

    Vote for your Hall of Fame Heroes

    George Coghill was an inaugural inductee but who will join him in 2002?
    NOW is your chance to cast your vote for the Scottish Claymores 2002 Hall of Fame inductees.

    And among the new nominees for the honour role this year are World Bowl '96 MVP YO MURPHY, record-setting season 1999 quarterback DAMEYUNE CRAIG, current Oakland Raiders offensive lineman BARRY SIMS and World Bowl '96 defensive hard-hitter JAMES FULLER.

    Once again, we are asking all Claymores fans to register their vote, this time in the fourth annual Claymores Hall of Fame ballot.

    During the past three years thousands of you across the world have voted on the club's website to select World Bowl stars GEORGE COGHILL, SIRAN STACY, SEAN LaCHAPELLE and MARK SANDER as the inaugural inductees to the Claymores' Hall of Fame in 1999 and 2000.

    Last year, Claymores former head coach JIM CRINER was added to the Hall as a special inductee after six seasons in charge at the Claymores. Coach Criner was joined by World Bowl '96 heroes JIM BALLARD and PURVIS HUNT on the Claymores honour role.

    Returning to the vote from last year's ballot are World Bowl '96 kicker PAUL McCALLUM and 1997 offensive lineman MARCO RIVERA, who is currently starting with the Green Bay Packers.

    Former Claymores players become eligible for the club's Hall of Fame when they have not played for the Claymores for at least two seasons.

    Claymores past and present coaching staff then nominate the players to join those who were unsuccessful in gaining admission to the Hall the previous year, with the players receiving most votes being elected. Nominated candidates stay on the voting roll for up to three years before dropping off.

    Coach Jim Criner was inducted in 2001
    This year, we are asking you to vote in selecting a further two out of six nominees to the Hall of Fame with four new nominations, from teams from 1995-99, being added to the two nominees rolling over from last year. Two of the six nominees with the most votes from you the fans will be elected to join Coghill, Criner, LaChappelle, Sander and Stacy in the Claymores Hall.

    The new inductees, selected by Claymores current and previous coaching staff, are 1996, 1997 and 1999 wide receiver and World Bowl '96 MVP YO MURPHY, recording-setting 1999 quarterback DAMEYUNE CRAIG and 1999 offensive line stars BARRY SIMS, currently with the Oakland Raiders, and JAMES FULLER, the hard-hitting free safety who combined with George Coghill to blast opponents in the Claymores 1996 defensive backfield.

    Claymores General Manager, STEVE LIVINGSTONE, said: "This will be perhaps one of the toughest and most competitive vote our fans have faced. The quality of the nominees is tremendous. It's great to be able to honour our past players in this way, but what makes it all the more special is that our fans actually cast the votes that elect the candidates onto our role of honour."

    You can vote for your selections to the Claymores Hall of Fame here on the Claymores club website until January 31, 2002, with the successful inductees being announced on the website and at the Claymores Super Bowl parties in Glasgow and Edinburgh on February 3, 2002.

    The Claymores kick off their 2002 NFL Europe League season at Hampden Park on April 14 against Barcelona Dragons. Fans can purchase tickets for the Claymores upcoming season at Hampden and Murrayfield by calling the club's freephone ticket hotline on 0500 35 35 35.

    Scottish Claymores
    Hall of Fame 2002 Nominees

    Who should be inducted into the Claymores Hall of Fame in 2002?

    Paul McCallum, K, 1996

    Marco Rivera, G, 1997

    Yo Murphy, WR, 1996, 1997, 1999

    Dameyune Craig, QB, 1999

    Barry Sims, T, 1999

    James Fuller, S, 1996